Three Teams, One Goal

The Commander-in-Chief’s Trophy,  first awarded by President Richard M. Nixon in 1972, is awarded to the greatest service academy football team at the end of each season. A holy grail of sorts it has been the fuel behind the fire of every great gridiron match-up between the Army Black Knights, the Air Force Falcons and the Navy Midshipmen for more than four decades.

After a very demanding 2012 season, the winner of the trophy this year was the Navy Midshipman. They came from behind after losing three of their first four games to beat both the Falcons and the Black Nights, bringing the trophy back to Annapolis.


Disclaimer: The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the Department of Defense of this website or the information, products or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and Morale, Welfare and Recreation sites, the Department of Defense does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations. Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD website.

Check out these other posts:

This entry was posted in DoD News, Rotator and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *